Playlist for the End of the World

18 Dec

I must admit that, like many,  I have been preparing for the end of the world on December 21, 2012. No, I’m not stocking cans in the basement or buying up firearms. I’m not even testing out flashlights or gathering up medical supplies. I’m simply preparing my mind, body and soul for the change that I believe is already in progress as we near the end of 2012. It’s kind of like getting ready the night before the championship game, the big game, the one you have been practicing your whole life for. So in true athlete fashion, I am putting together a playlist to psych myself up for the revolution.

1. Eye of the Tiger – Survivor: Written at the request of Sylvester Stallone for his main character role on Rocky III, this song will get you “Risin’ up, back on the street” and is guaranteed to fuel your will to become the “last known survivor.”  This song was also the opening warm-up tune for my high school basketball team, so I have been successfully conditioned to respond to the first few bars with an energetic lap around the gym.

2. Gimme Shelter – the Rolling Stones: Keep the energy pumping with a classic song that was born out of the Vietnam era, a time when violence thrived and “War, children, [was] just a shot away.”  According to Wikipedia, in the recording of the album, Jagger said in a 1995 interview with Rolling Stone, “Well, it’s a very rough, very violent era. The Vietnam War. Violence on the screens, pillage and burning. And Vietnam was not war as we knew it in the conventional sense…” On the song itself, he concluded, “That’s a kind of end-of-the-world song, really. It’s apocalypse; the whole record’s like that.” So, maybe add the whole album to your playlist for that matter. 

3. Revolution The Beatles: I have never been much of a Beatles fan, but this song is a must if you believe that the end of the world will bring about a revolution. I find it interesting that within the group itself there was so much controversy over the release of this song. Up until this point the band had refrained from inserting political messages in their music, but Lennon persisted and was able to ease the fears of his fellow band mates resulting in a song that became the title track for an entire era.

4. Britney Spears – Dance ‘Till the World Ends: I love Britney. That is all.

5. No Light No Light – Florence + the Machine: Okay, so this song is about the end of a relationship and not the end of the world, but change a few words and it works. Plus its the theme song for NBC’s new series: Revolution, so I automatically sing revolution instead of resolution. On a side note, I do wonder how they plan to continue the show if nothing happens on December 21st? Will the Apocalypse fad be over or will we find another date to look forward to? Maybe that’s why it isn’t returning until March 25, 2013. Regardless, if real life mimics the TV show,  there is sure to be “No light, No light” at the end of the world.

6. Warning – Incubus: After watching this video again,  I kind of want to be that girl in the hoodie on Friday. I will just head on down to the mall (on the bus of course) and let out a full minute scream at 10:23 a.m. because according to Wikipedia: “At the end of the video, it is revealed that exactly 10:24, all the places featured in the video are abandoned, as if the individuals who beheld the girl in any of these environments, and eventually, the entire city’s populace, had suddenly vanished or were abducted.” Don’t say we didn’t warn you.

7. Handlebars – Flobots: After screaming out a warning in the middle of the mall at 10:24 a.m. on Friday, I imagine swiping a bike at the local Kmart and riding down the highway singing “I can hand out a million vaccinations, or let’em all die in exasperation. Have’em all healed of their lacerations. Have’em all killed by assassination.” I’m not gonna lie, I think I would be quite confident if I survived the end.

8. The Man who Sold the World – David Bowie or Nirvana: The confidence I gain after surviving the end of the world will surely turn into anger and depression. I would demand to know who sold the world and since I am a proud feminist it MUST have been a man who sold the world. Plus this would remind me to follow through with my plans to raid the V&A for all items once belonging to Ziggy Stardust.

9. The End – The Doors: In 1969, Jim Morrison, lead singer for the Doors, stated: “Everytime I hear that song, it means something else to me. It started out as a simple good-bye song…. Probably just to a girl, but I see how it could be a goodbye to a kind of childhood. I really don’t know. I think it’s sufficiently complex and universal in its imagery that it could be almost anything you want it to be.” Perhaps even the end of the world.

10. It’s the End of the World as We Know It (And I feel Fine) – R.E.M.: No End of the World Playlist would be complete without this R.E.M. classic. Even way back in the 1980’s people were talking about the apocalypse and judging by the YouTube comments this song has become the unofficial doomsday song. According to Wikipedia: “Following the terrorist attacks on September 11, 2001, the song was placed on the list of post-9/11 inappropriate titles distributed by Clear Channel.” Even more of a reason to blast this tune at the end of the world.

So there you go. These are just a few of the songs I am adding to my playlist. What songs get you pumped for the end of the world?

Leave a Reply

